If you were waiting on the official statement on whether Clemson’s game-winning touchdown was legal or not, here it is.
Many thought Clemson ran an illegal “pick” play, but NCAA coordinator of officials Roger Redding ruled the play legal, saying an Alabama defender either initiated the contact or it was “mutual.”
NCAA coordinator of officials Roger Redding on final TD:
"What we saw was contact was either intiated by the defense or mutually initiated."
— Ralph D. Russo (@ralphDrussoAP) January 10, 2017
Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney said earlier today that the final play actually should have been a penalty on Alabama.
Dabo just said last play was “defensive pass interference” on Alabama.
— Dennis Dodd (@dennisdoddcbs) January 10, 2017
We’re sure this will continue to be talked about for some time.