If you thought Iowa State coach Paul Rhoads was upset last night during his post-game press conference, you might not want to be near him when he hears what the Big 12 has officially released about the controversial call that essentially cost the Cyclones the game. First, here’s a clip of the play in question, in which Texas running back Johnathan Gray was ruled down before the fumble occurred.
According to Walt Anderson, Big 12 Supervisor of Football Officials, the crew got the call correct. Keep in mind that it takes “indisputable” video evidence to overturn a call.
On this play, the covering official ruled the runner was down and still had control of the ball. There is no question the runner ends up on the ground, and there is no question that eventually an Iowa State player ends up with the ball. However, after reviewing the video evidence it is impossible to tell with certainty when the runner loses control of the ball and at that point was he down or not.
Admittedly, it’s tough to tell what really happened in the pile, but many believe Gray’s knee didn’t touch the ground before the ball was out. What do you think?