The Crimson Tide could’ve probably guaranteed overtime last night.
Alabama lost the national title game with one second left when Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson found Hunter Renfrow wide open in the end zone for a two-yard score.
The TD put the Tigers up, 32-28, and the game was over an onside kick and kneel down later.
— Relive Sports ™ (@relive_sports) January 10, 2017
Alabama could’ve pretty much guaranteed overtime, though, by doing the following: committing BLATANT pass interference penalties on every wide receiver at the line of scrimmage. Seriously, just tackle every Clemson player right as the snap is taken.
A penalty will be called on the Crimson Tide, but no more time will be put back on the clock.
So, Clemson would have had a 1st and goal from the 1-yard line with 1 or 2 seconds left. Tigers’ coach Dabo Swinney could have gambled and went for it, but he likely would have taken the field goal, sending the game to overtime.
The Wall Street Journal detailed it further:
Alabama wouldn’t have been able to do this an infinite number of times. But assuming it worked, they only would’ve needed to do it once. “If it happened more than once and was so blatant as to be obviously intentional, then the rules allow for the referee to award the touchdown anyway,” said Rogers Redding, the NCAA’s officiating coordinator. “The procedure would be that the referee would warn the defensive coach that if it happens again, the touchdown would be awarded and the game would be over.”
What do you think, Alabama fans? Did Nick Saban mess up by not instructing his players to do this?