The Sooners’ running back was already wrapped up, but the facemask was grabbed pretty hard.
The referees in the Rose Bowl appeared to miss a blatant Georgia penalty on Oklahoma’s second-to-last drive in regulation.
Bulldogs’ defenders appeared to grab the facemask of Sooners running back Rodney Anderson on a third down rush when he was stopped short.
Oklahoma was up, 45-38, at the time of the play, and a lengthy drive could have secured the win. But the facemask penalty was missed.
Still can't believe the side judge missed the facemask on Oklahoma's last drive. Staring right at it
— Andrew Doughty (@Adoughty88) January 2, 2018
That’s blatant, but the grabbing of the facemask didn’t really prevent Oklahoma from getting the first down (Anderson was already being stopped short) and the referees in general were very good all game.
It’s certainly unfortunate for the Sooners that the penalty was missed, but they had plenty of chances to win that game.
Georgia moves on to face the winner of Clemson-Alabama in the national title game next Monday night.