Here’s what happened on the last pitch of Game 5.
The final pitch of the decisive Indians-Yankees American League Division Series game on Wednesday night had some people confused.
New York closer Aroldis Chapman struck out Indians’ outfielder Austin Jackson to wrap up the Game 5 – and series – win, but the strike was dropped.
Jackson, though, opted to not run to first.
So, am I wrong, or could Jackson have taken off and reached safely on a dropped third strike by Sanchez?? Never got tagged. pic.twitter.com/Tyxs3Cp28H
— Ryan Greene (@ryanmgreene) October 12, 2017
Jackson could have taken off and ran to first, but under Rule 6.09(b), a batter is now ruled out on a dropped third strike once he leaves the dirt circle surrounding home plate.
Rule 6.09(b) Comment: A batter who does not realize his situation on a third strike not caught, and who is not in the process of running to first base, shall be declared out once he leaves the dirt circle surrounding home plate.
Prior to 2006, you could run to first base at any time on a dropped third strike as long as you didn’t leave the field and weren’t tagged.
There was a controversial dropped third strike in 2005 that changed the rule.
— Sox On 35th (@SoxOn35th) October 12, 2017
Jackson didn’t attempt at any point to go to first base, though.
The Yankees and the Astros are set to meet in the American League Championship Series on Friday night.