Skip to main content

Conference Admits Major Blown Call In Fourth Quarter On Friday

A referee signaling a touchdown during a Florida Gators game.

(Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

The American Athletic Conference has admitted that a major call was blown on Friday night.

Tulsa beat East Carolina, 34-31, on Friday evening. The game had a major officiating controversy late in the fourth quarter, with a fumble call appearing to be blown.

The following fumble was determined to not have been a fumble by the referees, essentially securing the win for Tulsa.

Of course, that was a ridiculous call, and the AAC has ruled as such on Saturday morning:

The American Athletic Conference has acknowledged an officiating error that occurred in the fourth quarter of the Oct. 30 East Carolina-Tulsa football game. With 1:52 remaining in the fourth quarter, a Tulsa ball carrier was ruled by the on-field officials to have fumbled, with the ensuing recovery by East Carolina. After further review of the play by the replay official, the ruling on the field was reversed; the replay official determined that the ball carrier had regained possession and was down, prior to East Carolina’s ultimately recovering the ball. After reviewing the video of the play, the Conference has determined that the judgment of the replay official was incorrect. The ball carrier did not regain possession of the ball, and the ruling on the field awarding the ball to East Carolina should not have been reversed. The American Athletic Conference has conducted a review of the game and has communicated its findings to East Carolina and Tulsa.

It's an extremely tough blow to ECU.

Tulsa ended up winning the game, 34-30, to improve to 3-1 on the season. ECU, meanwhile, dropped to 1-4 on the season.