Skip to main content

Clemson's Dabo Swinney Named AP Coach Of The Year

As a reward for leading his team to a 13-0 record and No. 1 ranking, Clemson's Dabo Swinney has been named Associated Press Coach of the Year, it was announced today

Swinney takes over the honor from last year's winner, TCU's Gary Patterson. 

"I am very honored to receive the AP National Coach of the Year award," Swinney said in a statement to the AP on Monday. "Football is a great team sport and any individual honor is a result of having a great group of players and staff. I am blessed to have student-athletes and coaches that believe in what we do. This award is a reflection of their hard work and commitment."

The 46-year-old Swinney is the fourth ACC head coach to win the award since its inception in 1998. Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer won it in 1999, as did Maryland's Ralph Friedgen (2001) and Wake Forest's Jim Grobe (2006). 

Swinney's Clemson squad takes on Oklahoma in one College Football Playoff semifinal on New Year's Eve.