Skip to main content

Here's The Best Explanation We've Seen For Louisville Coach Bobby Petrino's Timeout

Bobby Petrino calls an inexplicable timeout vs. Florida State.

YouTube

If you're like us, you're still absolutely baffled regarding what happened at the end of the Louisville vs. Auburn game in Atlanta. For those who missed it, Cardinals head coach Bobby Petrino called his team's final timeout with 52 seconds to play, despite Auburn having just been charged with a holding penalty that negated a first down. Here's video:

Well, Fox Sports' Joel Klatt has the best explanation we've seen. Basically, because the run went for a first down, Louisville was forced to accept the holding penalty. Because the penalty was a live-ball foul, the play clock, by rule, was set to 25 seconds, and was to be started on the referee's signal. 

By that logic, Petrino made a mistake calling timeout, as only 25 seconds, not 40, would have run off of the clock. Instead, because of the timeout, Auburn ran its third down play, and the play clock then reset at 40 seconds. As Klatt notes, it's not as huge a mistake as originally thought. But Louisville would have gotten the ball back.

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

">September 5, 2015

It's certainly a confusing rule, and perhaps one that should be looked at. Either way, the confusion cost Louisville this afternoon.