Skip to main content

Louisville Football Announces 2016 Team Captains

Louisville's football team voted on its team captains. The votes are in.

Bobby Petrino announced on Twitter this evening the five players who have been voted captains of his 2016 Cardinals' football squad.

The captains:

  • Quarterback Lamar Jackson
  • Offensive lineman Tobijah Hughley
  • Running back Brandon Radcliff
  • Linebacker Keith Kelsey
  • Defensive lineman Deangelo Brown

Petrino announced the news in the following tweet.

Louisville went 8-5 last season, defeating Texas A&M in the Music City Bowl, 27-21.

The Cardinals enter the 2016 season with ACC championship expectations, hoping to compete with Clemson and Florida State at the top of the conference. Louisville is expected to begin the year ranked in the lower end of most of the preseason top 25 polls.

Louisville opens its 2016 season Thursday, Sept. 1 against Charlotte. The game will be televised on ESPN3 and is set to kick off at 7:30 p.m. E.T.