Skip to main content

Louisville QB Lamar Jackson Wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

Heisman history was made Saturday night.

Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson captured the 2016 Heisman Trophy. Jackson became the first Heisman winner from Louisville, which is the 40th school to have a player win the award.

Jackson beat out fellow finalists Deshaun Watson of Clemson, Jabrill Peppers of Michigan and Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook.

A dynamic dual-threat, Jackson put up video game-like numbers for the Cards this fall. He passed for 3,390 yards and rushed for 1,538 more. He produced 51 total touchdowns (30 passing, 21 rushing).

Jackson threw for six touchdowns in the season opener against Charlotte, but he burst into the national consciousness two weeks later against Florida State. Facing the Seminoles, Jackson threw for 216 yards and one TD and exploded on the ground for 146 rushing yards and four touchdowns.

Louisville finished the regular season 9-3. Jackson is the first Heisman winner for a three-loss team since Baylor's Robert Griffin III in 2011. Still, his numbers and body of work were too much to pass up.

Louisville will cap off its 2016 season vs. LSU in the Citrus Bowl on Dec. 31.