Skip to main content

State Of Kentucky Has Chance At 3 Straight National Titles

When Kentucky defeated Louisville in the Sweet 16 this past Friday night, the Wildcats ended the Cardinals' chances of winning back-to-back national championships. A longer streak remains in play, though, for the Bluegrass State.

">March 31, 2014

Kentucky won it all in 2012 with a victory over Kansas in the championship game. Louisville took home the title last season with a close win against Michigan. If the Wildcats were to prevail this year, the victory would come against either Florida or UConn.

In college football, teams from the state of Alabama won four straight national championships from 2009 to ‘12, with the Alabama Crimson Tide winning three (’09, ’10, ’12) and the Auburn Tigers winning one (’11). No state had ever accomplished that feat prior to Alabama doing it.

The state of Ohio won three straight national championships in men’s basketball from 1960 to ’62.

Kentucky takes on Wisconsin in the second Final Four game Saturday night at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Florida and UConn are set to tip-off in the first game at 6:09 p.m. E.T.