Skip to main content

Mark Richt Wins Walter Camp Coach Of The Year Award

Mark Richt doing an interview during a game.

MIAMI GARDENS, FL - NOVEMBER 18: Head coach Mark Richt of the Miami Hurricanes gives an interview after winning a game against the Virginia Cavaliers at Hard Rock Stadium on November 18, 2017 in Miami Gardens, Florida. (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

Mark Richt has won the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award.

This past season, Mark Richt, in his second season at Miami, led the Hurricanes to a 10-2 record, an ACC Coastal title and an appearance in the ACC title game. Tuesday, he won a major award.

According to Bruce Feldman, Richt has won the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award.

Here's more on the award, via

The Walter Camp Coach of the Year is selected by the nation’s 129 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. This prestigious award is bestowed upon an individual who has distinguished himself as a great teacher and role model on and off the field.

Richt's Miami squad didn't win the ACC championship against Clemson, but they will be taking on Wisconsin in the Orange Bowl in just a few weeks.

The last five winners? Brian Kelly, David Cutcliffe, Gary Patterson, Dabo Swinney and Mike MacIntyre. Coach to Coach Richt and his staff.