Skip to main content

The 2017 NIT Bracket Has Been Unveiled

a shot of an ncaa basketball before a game

(Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

The 2017 NIT bracket has been released. Syracuse, Iowa, Illinois State and California will be the tournament's 1-seeds.

This year's NIT field has just been released. As noted earlier in the afternoon, the "first four" teams out of the NCAA Tournament field - Syracuse, Iowa, Illinois State and California - will all be 1-seeds in the competition. There were 10 teams this year that got automatic bids - Belmont, Illinois State, Monmouth, Oakland, South Dakota, UNC Greensboro, UT Arlington, Akron, UC Irvine and Cal State Bakersfield. Those 10 schools won their regular season conference titles but didn't win their conference tournament titles.

Syracuse got the overall 1-seed for the tournament. Here's the entire field:

Here's a better look at the four regions:

The tournament starts Tuesday, and the first three rounds will take place at on-campus facilities. The last two rounds will be at Madison Square Garden.