Skip to main content

Photos: College Football Playoff Unveils New National Championship Trophy

Along with the new college football postseason format, which for the first time ever will see four teams playing for the national championship, we're also going to have a new trophy for the victor. Monday morning, the College Football Playoff unveiled the hardware that one team - crowned the best in the country - will hoist this upcoming January. 

In short, it looks almost identical to the College Football Playoff logo - just in trophy form.

">July 14, 2014

">@CFBPlayoff trophy

— FanSided (@FanSided)

The new @CFBPlayoff trophy

— FanSided (@FanSided) July 14, 2014

">July 14, 2014

">July 14, 2014

It's important to note that the nation's top team will also receive the AFCA National Championship Trophy - the Waterford Crystal ball awarded to past BCS title winners. The BCS itself never had a trophy, instead using the one associated with the Coaches' Poll. So by winning the College Football Playoff, a program will receive both trophies.

The trophy will be sponsored by Dr. Pepper for the next six years. This year's national championship game, which will take place after the two semi-final contests, is set for January 12th at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.