Skip to main content

Baylor's Art Briles Throws Some Shade At College Football Playoff Committee For Picking 4 "Brand Names"

While the College Football Playoff was considered a massive success, the format did result in two Big 12 programs that had great seasons - Baylor and TCU - feeling a bit left out. Wednesday, Bears head coach Art Briles joined ESPN and answered questions on the matter, taking a bit of a shot at the Playoff selection committee in the process.

Briles, after being asked about four "brand names" making the Playoff, suggested that the "old dogs" on the selection committee were responsible. The four schools that qualified for the competition were Alabama, Oregon, Florida State and Ohio State for reference.

It's no surprise that Briles is standing up for his program - especially with Baylor poised to have another great season. But it's also hard to argue that the Buckeyes - the last team in - didn't belong, considering they won the title. Will we see a six or eight-team playoff soon?