Skip to main content

Big Ten: Officials Made Correct Call On Controversial Final Touchdown During Nebraska vs. Michigan State

A Nebraska player makes a catch near the endzone.

nebraska michigan state ending

The Big Ten has seen its share of ridiculous plays this season, and one controversial call played a large part in Nebraska's dramatic upset of Michigan State. On what proved to be the decisive touchdown, officials ruled that wide receiver Brandon Reilly was forced out of bounds by a Spartans defender. He recovered to establish himself back in-bounds and make the touchdown catch. 

">November 8, 2015

Officials reviewed the play and upheld the decision, despite it looking very questionable that Reilly was forced out. Some expected a Duke-Miami-esque statement from the Big Ten on Sunday, but instead the conference ruled that the correct decision was made. From ESPN:

"Per NCAA rules, the instant replay crew cannot review the severity of contact, as that is a judgment call handled by the officials on the field," the Big Ten said in a statement to ESPN.com. "If the player went out of bounds without contact, he may not return to the field to make the catch unless it has been touched first by an opponent. The instant replay crew did confirm contact between the players, that the wide receiver reestablished himself in the field of play and completed the catch. After the replay review, the referee announced that the play stands as called on the field. The intent of instant replay is not to review all judgment calls."

Michigan State took home a wild win against Michigan earlier in the year, and lost one almost as dramatically in Lincoln on Saturday. That's the way the ball bounces in this sport.

[ESPN]