Juwan Howard is returning to the college ranks for the first time in over 20 years, so it’s understandable that he may not know every last rule and bylaw of the NCAA. Unfortunately, he may have made a mistake that could get him into lukewarm water with the governing body.
In a recent appearance on The Jim Rome Show, Howard was asked about the recruitment status of German star Franz Wagner. Howard responded by giving an update on his status – and in doing so may have committed an NCAA no-no.
He did not refer to Wagner by name, but by discussing his recruitment directly, he appeared to violate NCAA bylaw 220.127.116.11.
Via USA Today:
“Our communication has been great… Right now, he is making a decision if he is going to play with his national team to represent his country in the (FIBA) World Cup championship tournament. I highly recommend that he does. That’s a chance of a lifetime…
“At the end of the day, we’ve been communicating on whenever that process is over with, we’d love to have him on campus, wear a Michigan jersey just like his brother, and at some point compete for the University of Michigan and help this team in any way possible, and become a student-athlete at the university.”
NCAA bylaws prohibit coaches from confirming the recruitment status of a potential student-athlete that has not given a commitment or signed a letter of intent.
Wagner, the brother of former Michigan star Moe Wagner, is reportedly weighing joining the Wolverines or playing professional basketball in Germany.
While Howard was quick to note that he was not supposed to say Wagner’s name and added that he didn’t want to put any pressure on him, on paper it still looks like he broke the rule.
“I don’t know if I’m allowed to say his name because of the NCAA rules.”
The guest hosts of the show, Jason and Randy Sklar, also attempted to cover Howard by stating it was they who invoked Wagner’s name, not him.
“I said it. We said it. You didn’t say his name.”
It’s unknown if the NCAA will come down on Howard at all for what he said, but if they do, it will be for a secondary or Level III violation. The punishment would be light, if anything.