Skip to main content

Video: Nebraska Football Announces 2016 Captains

Nebraska graphic announcing captains

Nebraska Football/Twitter

Nebraska Cornhuskers head coach Mike Riley announced captains for the 2016 season last night.

The Nebraska captains, selected by team seniors, are: Jordan Westerkamp and Dylan Utter from the offense and Josh Banderas and Nate Gerry from the defense. Interestingly, senior quarterback Tommy Armstrong, who was a captain last year, was not among those chosen.

You can watch the official announcement video below:

Riley noted that he considered the idea of having captains change from game to game because "we've got so many leaders right here within this group, the senior group."

In addition to the four elected captains, seniors also asked Riley to name a "Sam Foltz Captain of the Week." Accordingly, Riley will pick a different player to join the permanent captains for each game.

The Huskers open their season Sept. 3 against the Fresco State Bulldogs.