Skip to main content

Ohio State Football Now Has Its Full 2014 Schedule

Early opinions on the schedule?

Ohio State football's entire 2014 schedule is now complete. The Big Ten released its 2014 schedule this morning.

The 2014 season will be the first that includes the two newcomers of the Big Ten: Maryland and Rutgers. Because the conference will now have 14 teams, Ohio State will have eight conferences games (six divisional games and two cross-divisional games). The Buckeyes division (East division) will consist of Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, and Rutgers. The two cross-divisional games will be vs. Illinois and at Minnesota

Ohio State's schedule will be:

Aug. 30: vs. Navy in Baltimore
Sept. 6: Bye
Sept. 13: Kent State
Sept. 20: Virginia Tech
Sept. 27: Cincinnati
Oct. 4: at Maryland
Oct. 11: Bye
Oct. 18: Rutgers
Oct. 25: at Penn State
Nov. 1: Illinois
Nov. 8: at Michigan State
Nov. 15: at Minnesota
Nov. 22: Indiana
Nov. 29: Michigan

The first game (vs. Navy in Baltimore) may be a tough one for Ohio State solely based on the fact that Navy is one of the few teams in the country that runs the triple-option offense. The Buckeyes had a tough time defending that Navy offense a couple of years ago when the Midshipmen came to the Horseshoe. Also, Virginia Tech and Cincinnati could be tough games for Ohio State; luckily, those two games are both at home. 

The most difficult conference games will at Penn State. at Michigan State, and home against Michigan.