Skip to main content

Ohio State Names Captains For The 2018 Season

An Ohio State Buckeyes cheerleader running with a flag.

MIAMI GARDENS, FL - JANUARY 03: A cheerleader runs onto the field with an Ohio State Buckeyes flag prior to the Discover Orange Bowl against the Clemson Tigers at Sun Life Stadium on January 3, 2014 in Miami Gardens, Florida. (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)

After a tumultuous offseason, the Ohio State Buckeyes are gearing up for the 2018 season. The Buckeyes open up against Oregon State and will be without their head coach for the first three games of the season.

Earlier this week, Ohio State announced Urban Meyer is suspended for the games against Oregon State, Rutgers, and TCU following an investigation into his handling of assault allegations against a former assistant coach.

With that decision in the rearview, the football program looks to move on and compete for back-to-back Big Ten titles.

On Saturday afternoon, Ohio State announced the captains that will lead the program into 2018.

Here are the seven captains: wide receiver Parris Campbell, safety Jordan Fuller, wide receiver Johnnie Dixon, defensive lineman Nick Bosa, wide receiver Terry McLaurin, offensive lineman Isaiah Prince, and linebacker Tuf Borland.

Ohio State opens the season a week from today against Oregon State. The Buckeyes are the clear favorite, but start a new quarterback in Dwayne Haskins who is making his first career start.

Ohio State and Oregon State kickoff at noon on Saturday.