Skip to main content

Ohio State President Lands Major College Football Job

Two Ohio State football helmets

NEW ORLEANS, LA - JANUARY 01: Ezekiel Elliott #15 of the Ohio State Buckeye helmet is seen on the sidelines prior to the start of the game during the All State Sugar Bowl at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on January 1, 2015 in New Orleans, Louisiana. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Ohio State University President Kristina M. Johnson has been named to the College Football Playoff Board of Managers, the school announced Monday.

Johnson, who has been in charge at OSU since August 2020, replaces Penn State University President Eric Barron on the Board of Managers. The group is comprised of presidents and chancellors from the 10 FBS conferences and Notre Dame.

According to the OSU press release, the board of managers "governs the College Football Playoff business, property and affairs" and "develops, reviews and approves annual budgets, policies and operating guidelines."

“As someone who was afforded significant academic opportunities as a result of my participation in sports, I have long recognized the importance of collegiate athletics and championed access to them for every student who desires it,” Johnson said. “I am proud to have played a key role in preserving the 2020 Big Ten Conference fall season at the outset of the COVID-19 pandemic and am looking forward to continuing my advocacy and working with the other presidents and chancellors on the College Football Playoff Board of Managers.”

With their school president now playing a major role on the CFP board, Ohio State will continue to focus on trying to get back to the College Football Playoff. After an appearance in the national title game in 2020, the Buckeyes fell short of winning the Big Ten and reaching the playoff in 2021.

Overall, OSU has been to the College Football Playoff four times in the eight-year history of the event, winning the inaugural playoff national championship in 2014.