Skip to main content

Ohio State's Chris Holtmann Named Big Ten Coach Of The Year

Ohio State basketball coach Chris Holtmann squatting on the sideline.

BOISE, ID - MARCH 17: Head coach Chris Holtmann of the Ohio State Buckeyes reacts during the first half against the Gonzaga Bulldogs in the second round of the 2018 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament at Taco Bell Arena on March 17, 2018 in Boise, Idaho. (Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Ohio State first-year head coach Chris Holtmann has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year after leading the Buckeyes to a 24-7 overall record and a 15-3 mark in conference play.

The Buckeyes will be the No. 2 seed in the 2018 Big Ten Tournament, which begins Wednesday in New York City. Last year, Ohio State was the No. 11 seed in the Big Ten field and lost its first-round game to 14th-seeded Rutgers.

Holtmann's predecessor Thad Matta won the Big Ten Coach of the Year award in 2010. Holtmann, meanwhile, has now won COY awards in three different leagues.

He was Big South Coach of the Year in 2013 at Gardner-Webb when the Bulldogs finished 21-13 and made the CIT. Holtmann also won the award last year in the Big East with Xavier.

For his career, Holtmann has a .600 winning percentage.

Because they are the No. 2 seed, Ohio State has some time off before it plays in the Big Ten Tournament. The Buckeyes will play either Penn State or Northwestern in the quarterfinals on Friday night.

The Buckeyes have won four Big Ten Tournament titles, the last coming in 2013. Michigan State leads the conference with five all-time wins.

The 2018 Big Ten Tournament will begin Wednesday at 5:30 p.m. ET on BTN.