Skip to main content

5 Finalists Announced For College Football's Butkus Award

A medium-shot of footballs used by Northwestern and Nebraska.

LINCOLN, NE - NOVEMBER 04: Footballs used by the Northwestern Wildcats before the game against the Nebraska Cornhuskers at Memorial Stadium on November 4, 2017 in Lincoln, Nebraska. (Photo by Steven Branscombe/Getty Images)

Five college football finalists were revealed for this year's Butkus Award.

Via Brett McMurphy of the Action Network, the following linebackers made the final cut: Iowa's Jack Campbell, Georgia's Jamon Dumas-Johnson, Washington State's Daiyan Henley, Cincinnati's Ivan Pace Jr., and Arkansas' Drew Sanders.

Campbell has compiled 107 tackles, two interceptions, and a safety in his senior season for a Hawkeyes defense allowing just 13.5 points per game. He finished second in the FBS with 140 tackles last season.

Dumas-Johnson can give the Bulldogs back-to-back Butkus Award winners after Nakobe Dean earned the honor last year. The 235-pound sophomore has three sacks and seven tackles for a loss for the nation's top-ranked scoring defense.

A converted wide receiver who transferred from Nevada, Henley has 102 tackles, four sacks, two forced fumbles, and a pick for the 7-4 Cougars. 

After amassing 125 tackles with Miami (Ohio) last season, Pace has 108 tackles (18 for a loss) and eight sacks for the Bearcats. He has 19 sacks in his collegiate career.

Sanders, an Alabama transfer, has assumed a starring role with the Razorbacks. The junior has posted 96 tackles, 8.5 sacks, three forced fumbles, and an interception. 

The winner will join a prestigious group of past recipients that includes Brian Bosworth, Patrick Willis, Von Miller, and Luke Kuechly.