Skip to main content

AP Coach Of The Year Candidates Announced

The Associated Press released the candidates for its Coach of the Year award.

The AP Coach of the Year candidates have been announced. Now that all of the awards for players have been given out, it's time to turn our attention to who helps make these players great. The coaches. None of these coaches should be a surprise, as all three guided their teams to tremendous seasons.

Here are the three candidates:

  • Nick Saban, Alabama
  • James Franklin, Penn State
  • Mike MacIntyre, Colorado

In the 20-year history of the award, no one coach has won the award three times.

Alabama's Nick Saban could become the first coach to win the award three times. Saban won the award with two different teams, with LSU in 2003 and then again in 2008, with Alabama.

James Franklin led his Nittany Lions squad to a surprisingly successful season including a Big Ten Championship.

Mike MacIntyre may be the most deserving candidate after turning a 4-9 football team last year into a 10-3 team that played for a conference title.

The winner will be announced on Thursday at 12:30 p.m. E.T.