Skip to main content

Baker Mayfield Wins Davey O'Brien Award As Nation's Top QB

Baker Mayfield standing with his Oklahoma teammates.

NORMAN, OK - NOVEMBER 25: Quarterback Baker Mayfield #6 of the Oklahoma Sooners during warm ups before the game against the West Virginia Mountaineers at Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium on November 25, 2017 in Norman, Oklahoma. Oklahoma defeated West Virginia 59-31. (Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images)

The top QB has been named.

On Thursday night the top players in the country were awarded with their respective trophies.

The Davey O'Brien award, given to the nation's top quarterback, featured three finalists: Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma, J.T. Barrett of Ohio State, and Mason Rudolph of Oklahoma State.

The winner?

Baker Mayfield.

Mayfield, the Heisman Trophy favorite, had a tremendous 2017 season, leading the Sooners to the College Football Playoff. He was also named the AP College Football Player of the Year.

The Heisman Trophy will be handed out Saturday night.