Skip to main content

CBS Analyst Changes National Title Pick After Big Ten, Pac-12 News

K.J. Hill of Ohio State celebrates with Big Ten Championship Trophy.

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA - DECEMBER 07: K.J. Hill #14 of the Ohio State Buckeyes holds the Big Ten Championship trophy after winning the Big Ten Championship game over the Wisconsin Badgers at Lucas Oil Stadium on December 07, 2019 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images)

For a while there, it looked like the ACC, SEC and Big 12 were going to be the only major college football conferences playing their seasons. As such, analysts around the country were really only picking either Alabama or Clemson to win the national title.

In the past two weeks, however, both the Big Ten and the Pac-12 have announced that they plan to play shortened seasons that will start later this fall. Barrett Sallee of CBS Sports is now factoring that into his College Football Playoff picks.

Sallee now has a very familiar four squads in his playoff. He has Clemson, Alabama, Ohio State and Oklahoma - four programs that are no stranger to the event.

Sallee does not have Clemson or Alabama winning it all. He has Ohio State, led by Justin Fields, knocking off the Tigers in the championship game. He does have Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence winning the Heisman Trophy, though.

The Big Ten, at the moment, is scheduled to play eight regular season games and one "position week" kind of game on December 19. The Pac-12 is going with a seven-game schedule.

The playoff committee is going to have its hands full trying to pick the best four teams when every league winds up playing a different number of games. Much of it could come down to the dreaded "eye test."

SEC play starts Saturday - so we'll get our first look at Alabama, LSU etc. College football is starting to ramp up.