Skip to main content

College Football Freshman Player Of The Year Announced

trevor lawrence celebrates a touchdown against louisville

CLEMSON, SC - NOVEMBER 03: Trevor Lawrence #16 of the Clemson Tigers reacts after throwing a touchdown pass against the Louisville Cardinals during their game at Clemson Memorial Stadium on November 3, 2018 in Clemson, South Carolina. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

College football's freshman player of the year award winner has been announced.

Clemson freshman quarterback Trevor Lawrence, who replaced Kelly Bryant as the Tigers' starter a couple of weeks into the season, has received the award from the Touchdown Club of Columbus.

Some of the previous winners for the award include:

  • Ohio State RB J.K. Dobbins (2017)
  • Alabama QB Jalen Hurts (2016)
  • Georgia RB Todd Gurley (2012)
  • Alabama WR Julio Jones (2008)
  • Texas QB Colt McCoy (2006)

It's an impressive list.

Lawrence has his eyes set on a more-important trophy right now, though.

The quarterback has led Clemson into the College Football Playoff. The Tigers will face Notre Dame in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 29.