Skip to main content

Predicting College Football's Next 10 National Champions

Here's who's going to win the next 10 national championships in college football.

The 2017 college football season starts in about four months and predictions for the upcoming season, including the projected national champion, are starting to roll in.

In anticipation of the upcoming season, we've made a prediction for the season - and the nine seasons that will follow.

Looking at things like depth charts, recruiting rankings, coaching situations and more, we've predicted college football's next 10 national champions.

How many more national titles is Nick Saban going to win at Alabama? What about Urban Meyer at Ohio State? Is Jim Harbaugh ever going to get it done at Michigan? What about Kirby Smart at Georgia? Jim McElwain at Florida?

All of those questions are answered in the predictions below.

Here's who is going to win the College Football Playoff in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026.

2017: Alabama

The Crimson Tide will avenge their national title loss this past season with an undefeated regular season and two wins in the College Football Playoff.

2018: Florida State

The Seminoles were one of the youngest teams in college football in 2016. They're more experienced this year, but still one year away from winning it all in our mind.

They get it done in 2018.

2019: Ohio State

The Buckeyes could win it all this year. They could win it next year, too.

But in 2019, with Tate Martell behind center, Ohio State wins its second national title under Urban Meyer.

2020: Clemson

The Tigers winning it all this past season was not a flash in the pan. Clemson's been recruiting at a ridiculously elite level and will get it done again in 2020.

2021: Texas

The Longhorns are on the way back up thanks to the hiring of Tom Herman.

After four years of good recruiting, Texas wins the national title in 2021.

2022: Alabama

The Crimson Tide win their sixth national championship under Nick Saban. It's also the last one they'll win with him.

2023: Georgia

The Bulldogs are thought of by some as the biggest "sleeping giant" in all of college football.

They won't be a "sleeping giant" come 2023. They'll just be a giant.

Kirby Smart speaking to Georgia media.


2024: Ohio State

The Buckeyes win their third and final national championship under the leadership of Urban Meyer, who will be "retiring" and then taking another job later on...

2025: Oregon

The Ducks finally get their national championship.

Chip Kelly, of course, is back coaching the Ducks.

2026: Notre Dame

Led by now-former Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer, the Fighting Irish win the national championship.

Meyer left OSU after a crazy good run and was ready for another challenge.

He's previously called Notre Dame his "dream job."