Skip to main content

The College Football Playoff Field Is Set

The College Football Playoff field is set.

This year's College Football Playoff field has been set.

On ESPN this afternoon, the College Football Playoff selection committee unveiled its final rankings, which include the final foursome - the four teams that will be playing for a national championship game. The top four teams will do battle in the Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl, respectively, before the winners are playing for it all in Tampa Bay.

The final foursome:

  1. Alabama - the Crimson Tide went 13-0 and won the SEC Championship Game on Saturday.
  2. Clemson - the Tigers went 12-1 and won the ACC Championship Game on Saturday night.
  3. Ohio State - the Buckeyes went 11-1 and notched wins over Oklahoma, Wisconsin and Michigan.
  4. Washington - the Huskies went 12-1 and won the Pac-12 Championship Game on Friday night.

The No. 5 team was Penn State and the No. 6 team was Michigan.

This means we get Alabama-Washington in Atlanta and Ohio State-Clemson in Arizona. We can't wait.

This year's bowl games will also be revealed on ESPN later in the afternoon.