Skip to main content

College Football Program Banned From Postseason In 2017-2018

Savannah State has been ruled ineligible for the 2017 postseason.

The NCAA released a list of 17 Division I teams across a variety of sports that will not be eligible for the postseason in 2017-18. According to the USA Today, the teams did not post a high enough Academic Progress Rate (APR) score, and will be forced to miss the postseason.

Here's a breakdown of what the APR is.

From the report:

The APR measures eligibility and progress toward graduation for athletes, and schools must achieve a score of 930 (out of 1,000) to avoid penalties.

Among those schools who did not post adequate scores are Savannah State for football and Southeast Missouri State for basketball. Neither team will be able to participate in a bowl game or postseason tournaments this year.

Here is the full list of schools that were penalized:


Postseason ineligibility

► Alabama A&M: Baseball, men’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s cross country

► Grambling: Men’s basketball, men’s cross country, men’s track

► Howard: Men’s swimming and diving

► Morgan State: Men’s cross country

► Savannah State: Men’s basketball, football

► Southeast Missouri State: Men’s basketball

► Southern University: Men’s baseball, men’s cross country, men’s track, women’s cross country

► Illinois-Chicago: Men’s cross country

Last year, 23 schools were among those penalized as a result of low APR scores.

[USA Today]