Skip to main content

ESPN Has Named A New Frontrunner For The Heisman Trophy

We have a new Heisman Trophy frontrunner heading into the fourth weekend of the 2018 college football season.

ESPN released today its updated Heisman Trophy poll, which includes voting from 10 ESPN "experts," and there is a new name atop the poll.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is now No. 1 in ESPN's Heisman Trophy poll. He's risen above Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, who's in second place at the moment.

The Sooners, of course, had a Heisman Trophy winner at quarterback last season. Baker Mayfield won the 2017 Heisman Trophy.

Murray has been just as good through three games - literally. The stats are exactly the same, basically.

Murray is coming off a 348-yard, three-touchdown performance in Oklahoma's Week 3 win.

Oklahoma, the No. 5 team in the country, is set to host Army on Saturday.