Skip to main content

J.T. Barrett Makes Ohio State Football History

Urban Meyer speaks to a reporter in his team's facility.


The Buckeyes' quarterback is the first three-time captain in program history.

Ohio State's football program started spring practice this morning. With spring practice starting, the Buckeyes have officially listed three players as captains - senior quarterback J.T. Barrett, senior center Billy Price and senior defensive end Tyquan Lewis.

Barrett's captaincy is a historic one - he's now the first three-time captain in the history of Ohio State's football program.

Urban Meyer will likely name more captains before the start of the 2017 season, but he likes to pick out a couple of obvious senior leaders himself before the spring starts. New captains will probably be added via a team vote before the '17 season.

Ohio State starts its 2017 season on Thursday, Aug. 31 against Indiana.