Skip to main content

Maryland's Schedule Ranked The Toughest In The Country

The Terrapins have the toughest schedule in the country.

Athlon Sports has ranked the toughest schedules in college football heading into the 2017 season.

The team in the No. 1 spot is a bit surprising.

According to Athlon Sports, a team out of the Big Ten's East Division has the most-brutal schedule in the country heading into the fall.

Maryland has the country's toughest schedule.

From Athlon Sports:

No one can accuse the Terrapins of hiding in their shells. Head coach DJ Durkin's second season in College Park pits Maryland against one of the most brutal schedules any program has faced in recent memory. Playing the Big Ten East is bad enough, with games against Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State and Penn State. The Terps also draw road games at Minnesota and Wisconsin in cross-divisional competition — all that after opening the season at Texas.

Here's the full schedule:

Saturday, Sept. 2 at Texas

Saturday, Sept. 9 vs. Towson

Saturday, Sept. 23 vs. UCF

Saturday, Sept. 30 at Minnesota

Saturday, Oct. 7 at Ohio State

Saturday, Oct. 14 vs. Northwestern

Saturday, Oct. 21 at Wisconsin

Saturday, Oct. 28 vs. Indiana

Saturday, Nov. 4 vs. Rutgers

Saturday, Nov. 11 vs. Michigan

Saturday, Nov. 18 at Michigan State

Saturday, Nov. 25 vs. Penn State

[Athlon Sports]