Skip to main content

Baker Mayfield, Dede Westbrook Become First Teammates As Heisman Finalists In Over A Decade

Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook were both selected as Heisman Trophy finalists on Monday night.

Oklahoma may not be playing for a national championship this year, but that doesn't mean the program hasn't made history in 2016. Monday night, quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook became the first set of teammates to be Heisman Trophy finalists in over a decade. In 2004, there were actually two sets - Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush of USC and Adrian Peterson and Jason White from Oklahoma.

ESPN does not seem to be including the 2005, when Leinart and Bush also were finalists. That's probably because Bush vacated the trophy.

Neither Mayfield nor Westbrook will be the favorite - that honor will go to Louisville's Lamar Jackson. But Bob Stoops & Co. have to be pretty excited about how it all shook out.