Skip to main content

Only 1 SEC Head Coach Has Won A Major Bowl Game

Here's how many coaches in the SEC have won a major bowl game.

How many SEC coaches do you think have won a "major" bowl game?

At least a couple, right? The SEC is annually referred to as the country's best conference, after all.

The real number: 1.

Alabama's Nick Saban is the only coach in the SEC with a victory in the Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Orange Bowl or New Year's Six game.

Compare that to the other conference's and it's pretty striking.

Texas A&M head coach Kevin Sumlin did win the Cotton Bowl, but that was before it was technically a New Year's Six game.

Will the SEC's number change this year?