Skip to main content

The 2016 Walter Camp Player Of The Year Finalists

A generic picture of three footballs next to a pylon

The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced its five finalists for the 2016 player of the year.

It's almost awards season in college football. You know what that means. The finalists for each award are being announced. First up, the Walter Camp Player of the Year. Recent winners include Derrick Henry, running back from Alabama, and Marcus Mariota, quarterback from Oregon.

By this time in the season, we pretty much know who will be up for each award. Usually, the player of the year comes from the offensive side of the ball. Well, that could be about to change. Two defensive players are included in the five finalists for the award.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient is voted on by the 129 FBS coaches and sports information directors. The award will be announced on Thursday, December 8 during the 6 p.m. E.T. edition of SportsCenter.

Here are the Walter Camp Player of the Year finalists.