The worst officiating mistake of the year – by far – came during the Houston-Texas Tech game on Saturday afternoon.
Somehow, the referees allowed for Houston to throw two forward passes on the same play. Seriously.
The Cougars threw a screen pass, with the wide receiver clearly crossing the line of scrimmage, only to run backward and then throw another pass.
It led to a big first down.
Check it out:
Worst missed call of the year… they just straight up let Houston throw 2 forward passes?! pic.twitter.com/JMOiepUSaS
— CFB Gif’er (@CFBgifer) September 15, 2018
How does that happen?
Texas Tech won the game, 63-49.