Skip to main content

Who Won Last Year's NCAA Tournament?

It's the most wonderful time of the year, college basketball fans. The NCAA Tournament is days away from tipping off - the First Four games take place on March 17-18 with the Round of 64 beginning on March 19. 

Kentucky is seen as the overwhelming favorite to win it all, with Virginia, Duke, and Wisconsin, among others, viewed as legitimate contenders, too.

What happened in last year's NCAA Tournament? It was a wild one.

UConn, a No. 7 seed led by star senior guard Shabazz Napier, won the title, defeating Kentucky, a No. 8 seed, in the national championship game, 60-54. 

The Huskies got there by beating No. 10 St. Joseph's, No. 2 Villanova, No. 3 Iowa State, No. 4 Michigan State and No. 1 Florida. The Wildcats reached the championship game by winning games against No. 9 Kansas State, No. 1 Wichita State, No. 4 Louisville, No. 4 Michigan and No. 2 Wisconsin.

The full 2014 NCAA Tournament bracket can be seen here.