Skip to main content

Final Four TeamCast Commentators Have Been Announced

A view of the court during the Final Four.

GLENDALE, AZ - APRIL 01: A general view as the Oregon Ducks play the North Carolina Tar Heels in the first half during the 2017 NCAA Men's Final Four Semifinal at University of Phoenix Stadium on April 1, 2017 in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

Each year, CBS/Turner Sports set up special "TeamCasts" for each Final Four team. This year's groups are pretty interesting.

In the early game, No. 3 Michigan faces No. 11 Loyola Chicago. No. 1 seeds Villanova and Kansas face off in the second game of the big double-header.

This year's TeamCast lineup features a former NFL player, a famous doctor, a top NBA insider, and a big-time comedian and actor. It's quite the group.

Here are the four groups. The Michigan and Kansas "TeamCasts" will be on TNT, while Loyola and Villanova will be broadcast on truTV. From the NCAA:

Michigan Final Four TeamCast commentators:

Matt Park, play-by-play – Park just completed his 11th season as the voice of the Michigan women’s basketball team. He is a three-time Michigan Association of Broadcasters award winner for play by play on both radio and television.

Jay Feely, analyst – Feely, a Michigan alum, has been an analyst for the NFL ON CBS since 2016 after first joining CBS Sports Network in 2014. Feely works as THE NFL ON CBS’ kicking analyst, as well, including serving that role beginning in 2015 and during Super Bowl 50. He won a National Championship with Michigan in 1997 and enjoyed a 14-year NFL career as a kicker.

Dr. Sanjay Gupta, reporter – Dr. Gupta, a Michigan alum, is a multiple Emmy-award winning chief medical correspondent for CNN, where he has worked since 2001. He is the host of Vital Signs for CNN and a member of the staff and faculty at the Emory University School of Medicine.

Loyola Chicago TeamCast Commentators:

Jeff Hagedorn, play-by-play – Hagedorn, a Loyola alum, currently serves as the radio voice for the Loyola men’s basketball team. He previously worked on television coverage of the Houston Rockets.

Jerry Harkness, analyst – Harkness served as captain of Loyola’s 1963 National Championship team, which was inducted to the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013. That same year, Harkness was awarded the Muhammad Ali Athlete Award and he is also a member of the Loyola Athletics Hall of Fame.

Shams Charania, reporter – Charania, a Loyola alum, currently serves as an NBA reporter for Yahoo! Sports, breaking news from around the league.

Kansas TeamCast commentators:

Dave Armstrong, play-by-play – Armstrong has served as TV play-by-play announcer for Jayhawks games since 1993. He has also been a play-by-play announcer for the Kansas City Royals, Colorado Rockies, Kansas City Chiefs and Seattle Seahawks.

Scot Pollard, analyst – Pollard, a Kansas alum, appeared in an Elite 8 and three Sweet 16s in his four years as a Jayhawk, finishing his career in the school’s top-5 in rebounds and blocked shots. He won an NBA title with the 2008 Boston Celtics, capping a 12-year NBA career.

Rob Riggle, reporter – Riggle, a Kansas alum, is currently an actor – appearing in dozens of films and television shows - and a sports fanatic. He has appeared on NFL pregame show coverage for FOX since 2012.

Villanova TeamCast commentators:

Scott Graham, play-by-play – Graham returns as play-by-play announcer for Villanova’s TeamCast after serving in the same role in 2016. He currently announces Big East games for a variety of networks.

Randy Foye, analyst – Foye, a Villanova alum, was a 2006 first team All-American and the Big East Player of the Year in leading Villanova to the Elite 8. He played for seven teams in a 12-year NBA career.

Kacie McDonnell, reporter – McDonnell, a Villanova alum, returns as reporter after serving in the same role in 2016. She currently works for NESN, covering Boston-area teams.

Michigan vs. Loyola will tip off at 6:09 p.m., followed by Kansas vs. Villanova after the completion of the first game. The standard Final Four broadcast, featuring Jim Nantz, Grant Hill, Bill Raftery, and Tracy Wolfson, will take be broadcast on TBS.