Skip to main content

NCAA National Coordinator Of Officiating Says Refs Made Correct Call In Seton Hall-Arkansas Game

Coordinator of officiating debates the call in the Seton Hall Arkansas game.

This call changed the game, but was it the correct one?

The Seton Hall-Arkansas matchup was marred by a call that had Twitter in a frenzy. Late in the game, Seton Hall's Desi Rodriguez fouled an Arkansas player in an attempt to save time. Instead of a normal foul call, however, the refs determined the foul warranted a Flagrant 1 designation, giving Arkansas two free-throws and the ball.

Seton Hall fans, and many around the basketball were upset with the call. Check out the foul here.

NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officiating, J.D. Collins, explained the call.

Despite the explanation, we can't help but wonder what would have been if a normal foul had been called.