Skip to main content

Here's The Final Out That Ended The Chicago Cubs' 108-Year World Series Drought

The Chicago Cubs are World Series champions for the first time since 1908.

The Chicago Cubs, who trailed the Cleveland Indians 3-1 heading into Game 5, completed an incredible comeback on Wednesday night, winning Game 7 in crazy fashion to claim their first World Series title in over a century. The Cubs, who blew a 6-3 lead late, needed extra innings to claim victory, 8-7.

The game, of course, had everything. Chicago's Dexter Fowler led the game off with a solo home run, giving the Cubs a lead immediately. After Cleveland tied the contest at 1-1 on a Carlos Santana single in the third, Chicago struck back with two in the top of the fourth and two more in the top of the fifth.

Cleveland scored two on wild pitch by Jon Lester in the bottom of the fifth. Chicago's David Ross extended his team's lead to 6-3 with a solo blast in the sixth. But the Indians rallied in the bottom of the eighth, tying the contest on a two-run shot by Rajai Davis.

After a short rain delay, Chicago broke through in the 10th, scoring two on a double by Ben Zobrist and a single by Miguel Montero. Cleveland got one back on single from Davis, but that was it.

Here's the final out. Michael Montgomery got Michael Martinez to ground out to third.

The Cubs have now won three World Series titles, but their prior two championships came back in 1907 and 1908. The party is on in Wrigleyville.