Skip to main content

The NCAA Tournament Has Released Its List Of Announcers

CBS broadcaster Jim Nantz at round one of the 2017 Masters Tournament in Augusta.

AUGUSTA, GA - APRIL 06: Jim Nantz, CBS Sportscaster, is seen on set during the first round of the 2017 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club on April 6, 2017 in Augusta, Georgia. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)

The NCAA tournament announcer lineup has officially been set.

While most of the names look familiar, there are a couple of interesting additions and omissions.

Here are your NCAA men's basketball Tournament announcers:

— Richard Deitsch (@richarddeitsch) March 11, 2021

">Richard Deitsch of The Athletic shared the official list on Twitter Thursday morning.

The first half of the list highlights the marquee teams for the regional weekend games. Right off the bat, there are some glaring differences to the typical lineups.

Usually joining Brian Anderson and Allie LaForce in NCAA tournament coverage, Chris Webber will not be a part of the team in 2021. The former NBA star will be replaced by Jim Jackson.

Another former NBA player turned announcer has also been left off the docket. For the first time in years, Reggie Miller will not be joining Kevin Harlan, Dan Bonner and Dana Jacobson on the CBS team.

The two other main teams (Jim Nantz, Bill Raftery, Grant Hill, Tracy Wolfson/Ian Eagle, Jim Spanarkel, Jamie Erdhal) will remain the same.

The most intriguing addition to this year's commentating list is former Alabama head coach and NBA veteran Avery Johnson. After four years of coaching the Crimson Tide (2015-19), Johnson will join Tom McCarthy in coverage of the early round games.

Turner Sports broadcaster Lauren Shehadi, who was supposed to make her March Madness debut in 2020, will also join the team for the first time in 2021.

The First Four round of games will tip off Mar. 18 on CBS.