Skip to main content

Report: The NFL's Playoff Structure Is About To Change

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes celebrates the AFC Championship Game win.

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI - JANUARY 19: Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs reacts after a fourth quarter touchdown pass against the Tennessee Titans in the AFC Championship Game at Arrowhead Stadium on January 19, 2020 in Kansas City, Missouri. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

Major League Baseball apparently isn't the only league thinking about changing its playoff structure. Changes might be coming to the NFL playoffs, too.

ESPN NFL insider Adam Schefter reported on Wednesday night that the NFL's playoff structure is about to change. Expansion is coming, according to the NFL insider.

"Under the current CBA proposal, seven teams from each conference will make the playoffs, with only bye per conference, sources tell ESPN. It would go into effect this upcoming season," Schefter reports.

Six teams from each conference currently make the postseason. There are four division winners and two Wild Card teams. The top two teams in each conference get byes into the Divisional Round. Here are some of the teams that would have made the playoffs under the new format:

"That's been agreed to for a long time," one source told Schefter about the new playoff structure. "There wasn't a lot of disagreement to that issue."

The more playoff games, the better, right? That seems to be the NFL's thinking. We can't say we really disagree with that right now.