Skip to main content

Only 3 NFL Owners Voted Against The New Overtime

Josh Allen gets sacked by Alex Okafor.

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI - JANUARY 24: Alex Okafor #57 of the Kansas City Chiefs sacks Josh Allen #17 of the Buffalo Bills in the fourth quarter during the AFC Championship game at Arrowhead Stadium on January 24, 2021 in Kansas City, Missouri. (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

The NFL owners have officially adopted a new overtime rule that will be exclusive to playoff games.

In this new rule, each team will now be allowed to possess the ball at least once. After that, it's sudden death.

The game will no longer end if the first team to possess the ball scores a touchdown. It's happened numerous times over the years, including this past season in the Chiefs-Bills AFC Divisional round.

Kansas City won the coin toss and scored on its opening possession as Josh Allen wasn't able to touch the ball again for Buffalo.

Per NFL Network's Ian Rapoport, the final vote tally for this new rule among owners was 29-3.

SI's Albert Breer has also confirmed that the three teams that voted against this rule were the Cincinnati Bengals, Miami Dolphins, and Minnesota Vikings.

The NFL is hoping that this rule will be fairer for teams that don't win the coin toss. For example, in 12 playoff OT games since 2010, the team that's won the toss has won the game 10 times.

Of those 10 wins, seven of them have come on the first possession.