Skip to main content

The Refs Made A Huge Mistake At The End Of Texas Tech vs. Gonzaga

Gonzaga takes on Texas Tech.

ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA - MARCH 30: Josh Perkins #13 of the Gonzaga Bulldogs competes for the ball against Matt Mooney #13 of the Texas Tech Red Raiders during the second half of the 2019 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament West Regional at Honda Center on March 30, 2019 in Anaheim, California. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Texas Tech held off Gonzaga to win the West Regional Final and notch its first trip to the Final Four on Saturday night, but it didn't come without controversy. A missed call by the referees has Bulldogs fans rather upset.

With just under one minute to play and Texas Tech holding a six-point lead, Red Raiders senior forward Tariq Owens scored an incredible block on Gonzaga star Rui Hacimura. Owens then saved the ball from going out of bounds, gaining possession for his team.

At least, that's how the referees saw it.

In reality, Owens' foot was completely out of bounds when he was saving the ball. Texas Tech was essentially given a free possession in the final minute of the game.

The Red Raiders held on to win, 75-69.

Obviously, one call didn't cost Gonzaga the entire game. But it did make the Bulldogs' comeback attempt nearly impossible.

Texas Tech is the first team in the Final Four. We'll have another after Virginia vs. Purdue.