Skip to main content

Video: Major Officiating Controversy During USA-Spain World Cup Game

alex morgan in the world cup

REIMS, FRANCE - JUNE 24: Alex Morgan of the USA is challenged by Patri Guijarro of Spain during the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup France Round Of 16 match between Spain and USA at Stade Auguste Delaune on June 24, 2019 in Reims, France. (Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images)

We've had a couple of questionable calls in big moments in the Women's World Cup in France this summer and we had another one late in this afternoon's United States-Spain game in the Round of 16.

The USWNT and Spain were tied, 1-1, well into the second half of the contest.

Spain was called for a questionable penalty in the box, resulting in a penalty kick for the United States. The call then went to the Video Assisted Referee, allowing the play to be reviewed.

The replay review determined that the call was correct.

United States got its penalty kick and Megan Rapinoe, who scored the Americans' first goal on a penalty kick, pushed it through to the left side.

This was the penalty:

The United States are now leading Spain, 2-1, late in the second half of this afternoon's knockout round contest.

The winner of today's game advances to the Round of Eight.

Today's game is on FS1.