Skip to main content

Kyrie Irving Elected To NBA Players Association Position

Brooklyn Nets point guard Kyrie Irving.

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - JANUARY 31: Kyrie Irving #11 of the Brooklyn Nets in action against the Chicago Bulls at Barclays Center on January 31, 2020 in New York City. (Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images)

Brooklyn Nets superstar Kyrie Irving hasn't won a whole lot this season. The Nets are five games ahead in the playoff race, but impressing very few with their 25-28 records.

Though an NBA title may not be in reach this year, one accolade that Kyrie is taking away from 2020 is a newly-elected role in the NBA Players Association (NBPA). On Monday, Irving was elected Vice President to the Executive Committee of the NBPA at their Players Association meeting.

In getting the role, Irving replaces six-time All-Star Pau Gasol, whose three-year term expired this year. Gasol has not played in the league this season.

In an official press release from the NBPA, the union announced that Irving will begin his term effective immediately. Irving served as the NBPA Player Representative for the Brooklyn Nets for this season.

In his own statement, Irving said he felt it was "the right time" to take on a leadership role in the NBPA. He said he was honored to be elected by his peers, and plans to help the union bring forward "innovative ideas."


"This was the right time for me to run for a leadership position in the NBPA,” said Irving. “I have been an observer and a participant in union affairs for a while, but for the most part, I was off on the sidelines, supporting our Executive Committee as they made important decisions. At this point in my career, I wanted to join forces with those guys and take a bigger role outside of the basketball court and within our union. I want to help move the union forward with innovative ideas, not only on social issues but also with business ventures into a new space. I am honored to be elected by my peers and I cannot wait to work with everybody to make an impact."

Irving joins an NBPA Executive Committee headed by President Chris Paul. Other members include First VP Andre Iguodala, Secretary-Treasurer Anthony Tolliver, and Vice Presidents Bismack Biyombo, Malcolm Brogdon, Jaylen Brown, CJ McCollum and Garrett Temple.