Skip to main content

Fans On Twitter Want ESPN To Give Arthur Ashe Courage Award To Coach Killed In Douglas HS Shooting

A picture of shooting victim Aaron Feis.

Assistant football coach Aaron Feis was killed while shielding students from bullets during this week's devastating shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida.

Aaron Feis, who also worked as a security guard at the school, was one of 17 people killed during the attack, carried out by a 19-year old former student of the school. He died at the hospital after the attack.

Feis has been rightfully heralded as a hero for his actions, from those who knew him at Douglas High School, to Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh who tweeted in praise of him on Thursday.

Now, fans on Twitter would like to see him honored during this summer's ESPY awards on ESPN.

Former Baltimore police officer Henry Mack III appears to be the one who got the idea kickstarted. His tweet from Thursday morning has over 23,000 retweets and 61,000 favorites.

He later went to correct the spelling error, and included athletic director and wrestling coach Chris Hixon, who was also killed in the attack.

As the Miami Herald notes, there are a bunch of others who have jumped aboard this idea, and for good reason.

It is hard to think of a much better example of what the Arthur Ashe Courage Award stands for. Feis returned to his alma mater over a decade ago, and literally gave his life for the students at Douglas High School. From the Arthur Ashe Award website at ESPN:

The Ashe Award is one of the most prestigious in sports. Recipients reflect the spirit of Arthur Ashe, possessing strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of peril and the willingness to stand up for their beliefs no matter what the cost. The award is inspired by the life that Ashe lived, using his fame and stature to advocate for human rights, although, at the time, those positions may have been unpopular and were often controversial. From speaking out against apartheid in South Africa to revealing to the world his struggle with AIDS, Ashe never backed away from a difficult issue, even though doing so would have been easier. Winners of the Ashe Award strive to carry on Ashe's legacy in their own lives - - inspired by those who do so each day.

Previous winners of the award include Jim Valvano, Muhammad Ali, Billie Jean King, Pat Tillman, and Pat Summitt. Last year, Special Olympics founder Eunice Kennedy Shriver, who passed away in 2009, received the honor.

The 2018 ESPY Awards will take place this July. A date has not yet been set.

[Miami Herald]