Skip to main content

ESPN Re-Seeds The Sweet 16 Teams

Florida State players interviewed after beating Gonzaga.

The 2018 NCAA Tournament is down to 16 teams. The Sweet 16 starts on Thursday night.

The NCAA Tournament does not re-seed teams after rounds. But what if it did?

What would the tournament look like going forward?

ESPN has answered that question. The Worldwide Leader has re-seeded the NCAA Tournament's remaining teams, No. 1 to No. 16.

Villanova is the No. 1 overall seed.

"Virginia's historic loss to UMBC in the opening round did not define the early work of the top seeds, most of which dismissed their first- and second-round opponents via lopsided victories. No team displayed more pre-eminent ease than Villanova, which blitzed Radford in a 26-point win and ruined Alabama in a 23-point victory," says ESPN.

Here's the full top 16:

  1. Villanova
  2. Duke
  3. Clemson
  4. West Virginia
  5. Kentucky
  6. Nevada
  7. Texas A&M
  8. Texas Tech
  9. Purdue
  10. Kansas
  11. Syracuse
  12. Gonzaga
  13. Florida State
  14. Loyola-Chicago
  15. Michigan
  16. Kansas State

There are some controversial picks here. Kansas, a No. 1 seed, being the No. 10 seems a little odd.

You can view the full reasoning here.