Skip to main content

Here Are The 8 Players Competing In Monday Night's Home Run Derby

The 2017 Home Run Derby will take place Monday night.

The Major League Baseball All-Star Game will take place on Tuesday, but Monday night, we get a bit of a teaser ahead of the contest. Eight players will compete to be crowned Home Run King - a title that Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins currently holds.

This year's Home Run Derby will follow the same format as last year's - eight players will compete in a seeded bracket-style tournament.

The eight players?

  1. Giancarlo Stanton (Miami Marlins)
  2. Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)
  3. Cody Bellinger (Los Angeles Dodgers)
  4. Mike Moustakas (Kansas City Royals)
  5. Miguel Sano (Minnesota Twins)
  6. Charlie Blackmon (Colorado Rockies)
  7. Justin Bour (Miami Marlins)
  8. Gary Sanchez (New York Yankees)

Here's how the bracket looks, per MLB:

The contest will start at 8:00 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on ESPN. Stanton, in last year's event, smashed 61 homers through the three rounds.